Beer Review: EBK – Gashadokuro (Ghost 782) – Adroit Theory

Beer Review: EBK – Gashadokuro (Ghost 782) – Adroit Theory

Let us get the pleasantries out of the way first: Adroit Theory is one of my most favorite breweries and I have yet to have a bad beer or experience from them. About now you’re expecting me to flip the script and say that EBK was the exception…but I’m not and I won’t. Still going strong from my first impression, Adroit Theory is one of a very few, select breweries that I know I can rely on for solid beer. Hell, just look at the can and you’ll see they can be relied on for kick-ass artwork as well! Admittedly, I’m a sucker for cool artwork, and when the beer and the artwork match, just take my money (no, seriously). Actually, before the main event starts, and speaking of “take my money”, I purchased EBK – Gashadokuro from Tavour. Tavour is a free app to download and you can pick and choose whatever beer trips your fancy to be delivered to your door. How cool is that?

The Beer

Beer: EBK – Gashadokuro (Ghost 782)
Brewery: Adroit Theory
Style: IPA – Imperial/Double
ABV: 8.3%
IBU: 31
Untappd Description:The 9th iteration of our Death Samurai themed series, this one is jam packed with Citra, Simcoe, Amarillo + Comet for a complex blend of Tropical + Pine with a Soft + Dry Finish
Enjoy In: IPA glass, Teku
Enjoy At: 50-55 degrees Fahrenheit

The Review

Adroit Theory holds a special place for me because I tried them on a whim and came away impressed. Not bad for a microbrewery out of Purcellville, Virginia, right? Actually, that last sentence came across with doubt in it and I would like to quelch any rumors that might stem from said statement and say that Adroit Theory deserves to stand with the so-called “big boys”. Quite honestly I feel that their beer portfolio is stacked from end to end with a master class on how to create fantastic beers with artwork to match. It’s just straight up silly how it all comes together.

Name another brewery that does this. I’ll wait..

Perhaps I’m getting ahead of myself because the beer I’m supposed to be reviewing hasn’t really been mentioned outside of the stats. Allow me to remedy that. EBK, like many of Adroit’s brews, is a long running experiment with different recipes and methods. This version, the Gashadokuro Edition, is the 9th such iteration of “EBK”. Never had versions 1-8, but if they’re as good as the 9th, then the only thing I’ve missed is the artwork (still sad, though). Regardless, when you do pop the top of EBK, you are greeted by aromas of tropical fruit, a slight boozy air, and piney hops. Not as much a samurai, up front assault, as it is a ninja’s way of life, the hops floating in after the thick fruit veil has subsided. With that in mind, the sweet fruit does continue from the nose into the taste and finishes a little on the dry side. Maybe this was intentional, but it works. For an IPA, EBK is not voraciously hoppy, but then the hop blend and Adroit’s brewing sorcery manage to keep everything in check. Phew! This beer does clock in at 8.3%, so do be mindful of having more than one, unless of course you don’t plan to drive anywhere. Actually, sitting at 8.3%, EBK doesn’t hit that hard. You will feel warm, but the alcohol punch is more inviting than it is overbearing. The body is much lighter than the ABV suggests and is a novel difference. Did I mention that I love Adroit? Yes? Well, just so we’re all clear, if you ever have an opportunity to visit Purcellville, Virginia, consider stopping at Adroit Theory for a drink (or four). The beer is quite exceptional, but don’t take my word for it, try it for yourself!

My Untappd Score: ****-1/2
Global Rating: 3.97 (as of 11/7/19)

Prost!

-J.Doncevic

recent posts

Go to Top