Beer Review: Miami Vice J.R.E.A.M. (Burley Oak Brewing Co.)

Beer Review: Miami Vice J.R.E.A.M. (Burley Oak Brewing Co.)

What does a 1980’s cop-duo drama starring Don Johnson and Philip Michael Thomas chasing after cocaine smuggling criminals in sunny Miami have to do with beer? Nothing really. I just decided to bring it up since this little brewery in Berlin, Maryland saw fit to name a beer after the show.

If you’ve heard of Burley Oak, you have no doubt, heard of their incredible J.R.E.A.M. series of sours. If you’ve never heard of Burley or their J.R.E.A.M. series, I have one question; what rock have you been living under?

The Brew

Beer: Miami Vice J.R.E.A.M.
Brewery: Burley Oak Brewing Co.
Style: Sour – Fruited
ABV: 7%
IBU: 6
Untapped Desciption: Our first J.R.E.A.M. cuvée, this imperial sour ale is a blend of both our Double Strawberry Daiquiri and Double Pina Colada J.R.E.A.M.s.
Enjoy In: Anything with an opening
Enjoy At: 50-55 degrees Fahrenheit

The Review

I would like to open with a BIG thank you to my buddy Chris for trading this gem of a beer.

Now to the matter at hand, the beer. Burley has a reputation with their J.R.E.A.M. series that not many breweries can lay claim to, and that is a consistent, knock-down, drag out, true-to-the-flavor-on-the-tin sour beer that aims for the fences every. single. time. PERIOD.

Usually there is no issue with opening a can from Burley or any other brewery, but ask anyone who’s had Miami Vice, and they will tell you that popping this one was an exercise in patience and might have required a wetsuit or a sink. My experience was a bit of a mix. I opened the can over a sink, and for a little bit, just a little hissing. Then it got excited. As in frothing at the mouth excited. That could have gone worse. Your mileage may vary.

The beer itself was a complete one-eighty from my first impression. It poured a light strawberry gold, with a loose, bubbly head. Happy to be out of the can I assume. Given ten seconds and the once prominent foam subsided and I was able to fill my tumbler with the remaining contents right to the brim. Perfect.

There are supposed to be five flavors from pineapple, strawberry, lime, coconut, and vanilla. I’ll be honest, I really only counted three. Of those flavors listed, I picked up on an additional note not listed: apple. I’m not taking points off for the apple, but I would definitely have liked there to be a bit more lime and coconut backed up with a touch more strawberry.

There is a reason Burley Oak gets a lot of hype surrounding their J.R.E.A.M. series and Miami Vice only bolsters this record. Perfect for sitting on the back porch, at the beach, or sipping at home. Beg, borrow, or “steal” a can, trade if you must, but do yourself a favor and try it if you’re able.

My Untappd Rating: ****-3/4
Global Rating: 4.26 (As of 7/6/19)

PROST!

-J.Doncevic

Last Updated: January 4, 2024By Tags: , ,

recent posts

Go to Top